|Duns is an attractive town with
a bustling market square. The town became the county town of
Berwickshire -upon-Tweed became part of England in 1482. The
population of Duns currently stands at around 2400. Its central
location makes it an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding
countryside, interesting towns and historical monuments. Duns has a
wide selection of pubs, hotels and eating
places offering good value for money. Duns even had its own railway
station from the 1800s to the 1960s.
Duns is situated in the
heart of 'The Merse' famous for its
If you climb
Duns Law, (714
feet) you will get fantastic of the Merse and the farmlands running out to
has an industrial and trading estate with factories providing employment for
the locals. The town also has a variety of interesting shops.
Close to the town centre is the Jim Clark Room
set up to commemorate the late world champion racing driver. In July
each year the SEAT Jim Clark
Memorial Rally usually takes place in and around Duns - it is the only closed roads stage rally on mainland Britain
and attracts thousands of visitors to the area.
Other annual events include
The Summer Festival in July and the Berwickshire Agricultural Show (usually
held on the first Saturday in August).
Duns is a great place for sports including
tennis, badminton, squash, weight training, swimming and bowling and has its
own rugby, football and hockey teams.
Duns also boasts its own
18-hole golf course and the nearby Blackadder and Whiteadder rivers offer
trout fishing. The River Tweed is also fairly close by which offers
The location is also ideal for outdoor
pursuits such as walking, photography, painting and birdwatching.
Nearby Duns Castle has a Nature Reserve which is open to the public.
Duns is also important for its historical
significance as it was frequently caught up in
the cross border wars between England and Scotland. In fact the current
town dates from 1545 when it had to completely rebuilt after being destroyed
by Henry VIII's troops. The original town was located in the grounds
surrounding Duns castle and existed from about the year 1000. Duns
castle is definitely worth a visit - it
was built as a tower house in 1320. Much of its current structure
however, dates just from around 1820 when the tower house was extended to
create a grand mansion. Manderston
house however is even more impressive and famous for its beautiful silver
staircase - it lies just a few miles from Duns town centre.
Tourist Information -
A limited range of material including
leaflets entitled 'Duns Town Trail' and 'Walks Around Duns' is available in Nairn's shop in the Square.
Manned centres (seasonal) are at Kelso and Eyemouth.
The centre at Jedburgh operates throughout the year and may be contacted on:
Tel: 01835 863170
E mail: email@example.com